Media Centre

Judge Announcement

13 July 2017

Judges for the 2017 Responsible Drinking Media Awards have been announced

Entries into the 2017 Responsible Drinking Media Awards are well under way and with just under a month to go before closing date, Diageo SA is thrilled to announce this year’s judging panel:

Mpumelelo Mkhabela

Mkhabela is the former chairman of SANEF and until recently, the station manager of Power FM. He is an experienced journalist as well as a political and policy analyst. He has edited South Africa’s iconic daily publications – The Daily Dispatch and the Sowetan – and is currently enrolled for a PhD in Political Science at the University of Pretoria where he is a fellow at the university’s Centre for the Study of Governance Innovation.

Angelo Fick

Angelo Fick is a senior researcher at eNCA. He does regular on-air analysis of news and current affairs, and writes frequent columns on He spent five years prior to eNCA as a full time academic researching and teaching at various universities.

Ryland Fisher

Ryland Fisher is an award-winning editor, journalist, columnist and author who has more than 35 years of experience in the media industry. He is the former Editor of the Cape Times and The New Age, and was assistant editor of the Sunday Times. His experience in the media industry extends across all media platforms, including broadcast, online, books and events.

Leanne Manas

Leanne is a multiple award-winning TV presenter and radio host and is a renowned leader in the South African media circuit. She has worked as a presenter on Talk Radio 702 and Jacaranda FM amongst others and has been the face of SABC 2’s Morning Live since 2004.

Joanne Botha

This is the third year that Joanne will be serving as a judge on the RDMA panel. Her knowledge of the media comes from years of experience as a leader in PR and reputation management. Joanne is the founder and owner of Pillar 9.  

“Each judge has been selected for being a well-respected leader in their field and for their intimate knowledge of journalism and the media industry. Their combined experience across broadcast, print and online ensures that each entry will be judged holistically.” says Jeff Milliken, Diageo SA’s Managing Director.

For more information on the awards, you can visit