Media Centre

Finalists of the 2016 RDMAs announced

Finalists of the 2016 RDMAs announced

Diageo SA is pleased to announce that after receiving more than 200 entries into its sixth Responsible Drinking Media Awards (RDMAs), the finalists have been selected as follows:

Best Newspaper – Nashira Davids (Sunday Times), Mia Malan (Mail & Guardian) and Bekezela Phakathi (Business Day)

Best Online – Jessica Anne Wood (Moneybags) and Mia Malan (Mail & Guardian)

Best Magazine – Vida Li Sik (Drum) and Bongani Mdakane (Move!)

Best Broadcast – Darren Taylor (RSG), Cleopatra Jones (Special Assignment) and Pippa Hudson (Cape Talk)

Best Community Media – Desiree Rorke (Tygerburger), Nicole John (Maritzburg Fever) and Takalane Nemangowe (Alex FM)

Best Campus Media – Ashley Seymour (Varsity Newspaper) and Charita van der Berg (MFM)

The RDMAs recognise journalists and media at large for their efforts to positively influence perceptions and habits related to the irresponsible use of alcohol.

The awards are open to South African journalists who produce content that relates to Responsible Drinking and the impact of alcohol abuse, including issues such as drink driving, underage drinking, foetal alcohol syndrome, binge drinking and alcohol-related violence. Any published material on any media platform that aims to support this cause is eligible to enter the awards and win a prize.

The 2016 judging panel was an eclectic mix of media experts consisting of author and journalist Rebecca Davis, media and reputation strategist Joanne Botha, freelance writer and former editor Aurelia Mbokazi, former editor and radio personality Brendah Nyakudya and bulletin editor and news presenter Zodwa Nogilana.

“The calibre of this year’s entries has been outstanding,” says Joanne Botha who has sat on the RDMAs judging panel for the past two years.

“What specifically stood out for me this year was how multi-dimensional the entries were – they showcased stories from a variety of audiences affected by alcohol abuse including tavern owners, families, community organisations and government. Many journalists also went further than just reporting on the actual alcohol abuse by providing advice on where to seek help”.

The winner of each category will walk away with R15000 and a public acknowledgment for their efforts to help combat alcohol abuse in South Africa. There will also be an award for Journalist of the Year for the overall best entry, as well as for Media House of the Year for the media house with the most unique entries.

Winners will be announced at an official awards ceremony on 31 August 2016. For more information on the awards visit

About Diageo

Diageo is a global leader in beverage alcohol with an outstanding collection of brands including Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, JεB, The Singleton, Talisker & Lagavulin whiskies, Smirnoff, Cîroc and Ketel One vodkas, Captain Morgan, Baileys, Don Julio, Tanqueray and Guinness.

Diageo is a global company, and our products are sold in more than 180 countries around the world. The company is listed on both the London Stock Exchange (DGE) and the New York Stock Exchange (DEO). For more information about Diageo, our people, our brands and performance, visit us at Visit Diageo’s global Responsible Drinking resource,, for information, initiatives, and ways to share best practice.